MLB has essentially eliminated the new transfer rule, effective immediately, the league announced. As we saw when Dustin Pedroia botched a potential double play last night, the new rule said a clean transfer from glove to barehand was required for an out. Things will now go back to the way they were for the last century or so. A bobble will usually result in an out if it was made on a transfer. Thank goodness. MLB did a real bang up job fixing something that wasn’t broken with the new rule.
River Ave. Blues » MLB comes to its senses, eliminates new transfer rule